Week of March 07, 2022

OFFER OF THE WEEK

O’Rourke will “try” at the Flatiron

Zachary Wagman at Flatiron Books took North American rights Beto O’Rourkeit’s We have to try, slated for release in August. The book examines the life of Lawrence Aaron Nixon, a Texan whose father was a slave who became a civil rights leader who, according to the publisher, helped win “one of the most important civil rights victories and Voting in American History: Defeating the All-White Primary O’Rourke recently won the Democratic nomination to run for governor of Texas. David Labelle and Mollie Glick to Creative Artists Agency represented him in the deal.

Foroux’s “path” leads to the wallet

For the wallet, happy sunshine secured worldwide rights to Darius Forouxit’s The Stoic Path to Wealth at auction. The publisher said the book “will help nervous investors overcome their anxiety and show them how to use the principles of stoicism to build wealth.” Foroux is a finance guru who has written or appeared in media such as fast company and Timeand who writes the popular Stoic Bulletin. Julie Stevenson at Massie & McQuilkin brokered the deal.

Pantheon Garner to Seven Inks

Under a North American rights agreement, Pantheon BooksLisa Lucas bought seven books by an Australian author Helene Garnier at auction. Garner, winner of the Windham-Campbell Prize, was represented by david forrer at InkWell Management, on behalf of Michael Heyward to text editing. Lucas called Garner’s work “inventive, human, thoughtful, spicy, intimate, unexpected, precise and universal”. The first two books of the agreement, scheduled for fall 2022, are Children’s Bach and This house of mourning.

Grove dances with Cohen’s “Ballet”

Grove Press has acquired a collection of fictional works by the singer-songwriter Leonard Cohendied in 2016. A leper ballet: a novel and stories was acquired under a rights agreement in the United States by Stone Blackstock of the Wylie Agency, which handles the literary affairs of the Cohen estate. The book is due out in October and, according to Grove, will be compiled from the works Cohen wrote between 1956 and 1961 and “will offer startling insight into Cohen’s imagination and creative process.”

Dorman anticipates Daverley’s debut

Claire DaverleyThe first novel by was preceded, in a two-book deal, by Pamela Dorman and Jeremy Orton at Pamela Dorman Books. The publisher described it as an overnight acquisition and said talk at night will appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes and Sally Rooney. It is a “classic bad boy meets good girl” tale, involving “a couple whose lives are linked by tragedy, who are destined to be each other’s great love story and whose history is what will connect them forever”. Ariella Feiner at United Agents handled the North American rights deal, and the novel is slated for release in the summer of 2023.

McKenzie, Silverman Sell Crypto Book

Actor Ben McKenzie (from Gotham and CO) and New Republic journalist Jacob Silverman sold easy money for Jamison Stoltz at Abrams Press. The book, Abrams said, is an account of the “authors’ ongoing investigation of the world of cryptocurrency and those affected by its dramatic rise and potential impending downfall.” McKenzie said: “easy money is about two things – money and lying – and although I know a little about the former from my economics degree, it’s the latter that fascinates me. Maybe that’s why I do it for a living. McKenzie was represented by Noah Ballard at Verve as part of the global rights deal, while Silverman was represented by Erik Hane at Headwater Literary. The book is scheduled for summer 2023.


A version of this article originally appeared in the 3/7/2022 issue of Weekly editors under the title: Book offers

Lucas E. Kelly